Sports for True Fans

Updates on the sports world.

2008 College Football Awards Results

All of the College Football Awards, except the Heisman, have now been announced. The results are:

The Maxwell Award(Outstanding Player) went to Tim Tebow out of Florida. There’s one repeat for him, and he’s looking for another.

The Walter Camp Award(Player of the Year Award) went to Colt McCoy out of Texas. Good sign for him, maybe.

The Dick Butkus Award(Outstanding Linebacker) went to Aaron Curry out of Wake Forest.

The Outland Trophy(Outstanding Interior Lineman) went to Andre Smith of of Alabama.

The Chuck Bednarik Award(Defensive Player of the Year) went to Ray Maualuga out of USC.

The Davey O’Brian Award(National Quarterback Award) went to Sam Bradford out of Oklahoma. This gave every Heisman finalist an award before the Heisman winner.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award(Outstanding Senior Quarterback) went to Graham Harrell out of Texas Tech. That may make up for being snubbed from the Heisman finals. Probably not, but maybe.

The Doak Walker Award(National Running Back Award) went to Shonn Greene out of Iowa.

The Fred Bilentikoff Award(Outstand Wide Reciever) went to Michael Crabtree out of Texas Tech, yet again. I think he’s going to win it all four of his college years, but that may just be me.

The Jim Thorpe Award(Outstanding Defensive Back) went to Malcolm Jenkins out of Ohio State.

The John Mackey Award(Outstanding Tight End) went to Chase Coffman out of Missouri.

The Lou Groza Award(Collegiate Placekicker Award) went to Graham Gano out of Florida State.

The Bronko Nagurski Award(Defensive Player of the Year) went to Brian Orakpo out of  Texas.

The Ray Guy Award(Outstanding Punter) went to Matt Fodge from Oklahoma State.

The Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award(Outstanding Lineman) went to Brian Orakpo out of Texas.

The Ted Hendricks Award(Defensive End of the Year) went to Brian Orakpo out of Texas as well.

The Rimington Trophy(Outstanding Center) went to A.Q. Shipley out of Penn State.

The player who won the awards was Brian Orakpo, defensive end for Texas. He won three awards: The Ted Hendricks Award, the Vince Lombardi/ Rotary Award, and the Bronko Nagurski Award.

Now, all that is left to be announced is the Heisman Award.


December 13, 2008 - Posted by | College Football | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: